How to delete your Twitter account permanently

Being sick of collected your personal information then push you ads? Well , it’s time to delete your Twitter account.

If you’re ready to pull the trigger and end your Twitter account, check out the instructions below for details.

Step 1: Navigate to Twitter and sign into your profile as you would normally.

Step 2: Click on your avatar icon in the upper-right corner of the screen and select “Settings and privacy” from the resulting drop-down menu.

Step 3: Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click “Deactivate Account.” This will take you to one final page, with details about how deactivation works. Click the “Deactivate” button once you’ve read the information.

Step 4: When prompted, enter your account password to verify that you really, really want to deactivate your account. (They want you to stay, don’t they?) After that, you’re 30 days away from being free. The deactivation should kick in after a few minutes, but some of your info may be viewable on the site for a few days afterward. Rest assured that it will be wiped with time.

During the deactivation period, your username won’t be available to start a new account until those 30 days are up. If you want to use that username or that email to create a new Twitter account before then, you have to first change your Twitter username and email.

Deleting Twitter is permanent once you are past that 30-day deactivation period — you can’t get back those old followers or that archive of your old Tweets. Twitter has tools in place to change your username, handle or email without starting all over, so before you delete, make sure that’s a change you really want to make.

More Ways to Protect Your Privacy

In addition to deleting your Twitter account, you can take other steps to protect your privacy online when using social networks. The first step is awareness, and you should be aware of the following:

Information you post to social media is publicly visible, so think before you post.

Even if you manage your privacy settings, there are still privacy concerns “behind the scenes” as Twitter collects data on users.

Understand how your social media applications connect to other apps, and that data sharing may occur across programs.

To protect your privacy while using social networks, you can also do the following:

Use a VPN: A VPN like RitaVPN or ExpressVPN encrypts your Internet connection, to keep your privacy and security protected when sending messages or personal communications.

Think before you share: Information shared on social media is publicly visible, so remember it is visible to a large amount of people.

Read the privacy policy: Be sure to understand the privacy policy of the social network and adjust your settings accordingly, and be aware of how your data is being collected, used or sold.

Adjust your privacy settings: Set your privacy settings within applications to control how your information is shared and what is kept private.

If you’re also interested in deleting your Facebook account, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *